Trouble transforming masterpiece Convoy

Figures, collectables, customs and collecting.
Post Reply
User avatar
stoltobot
Protoform
Articles: 0
Posts: 87
Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2002 6:46 am
Location: Nagoya, Japan
Contact:

Trouble transforming masterpiece Convoy

Post by stoltobot » Mon Nov 01, 2004 9:12 am

I finally recieved masterpiece Convoy for my birthday and for the most part it is totally awesome. Kudos to my girlfriend who must have spent an awful lot to purchase and send him, I'm guessing over AUD$200. I was jumping for joy when I finally got him out of his little twist tie prison. However, there is one little niggling problem...

Does anybody else have trouble sliding the legs up when turning Convoy into a truck? Is there a trick to it? I've tried it gently, I've tried bashing it into the table, I've looked for things that might be obstructing it but I still can't get them in.

Does anybody else have the same problem? I've only heard of one such other case on the net but no explanation as to how he got past it.
________
MERCURY CAPRI

User avatar
BigMaki
Protoform
Articles: 0
Posts: 3282
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2002 10:30 pm
Location: Jacksonville, FL. You may now feel sorry for me.
Contact:

Post by BigMaki » Mon Nov 01, 2004 12:29 pm

If I'm thinking of the right thing, you have to push in the little silver things on the sides of his legs to "unlock" the legs to slide them in.

User avatar
Knightdramon
Protoform
Articles: 0
Posts: 3621
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2004 7:15 pm
Location: York, UK

Post by Knightdramon » Mon Nov 01, 2004 12:52 pm

I had the same problem, even by pressing the silver tubes. It happened with his left leg.

The solution came up one day, when I was trying to transform him, it actually went in without any problems. Since that day he is in truck mode...

User avatar
deej
Protoform
Articles: 0
Posts: 1193
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2003 1:20 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Contact:

Post by deej » Mon Nov 01, 2004 5:13 pm

I don't think mine's been moved out of bot mode since the day I bought him home... My lord did he give me grief the first time I tried transforming him, although I've got Prime, not convoy, but I don't think there's any real difference other than shortened stacks anyhow is there?

(oh, and the price tag...)
Image

User avatar
Knightdramon
Protoform
Articles: 0
Posts: 3621
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2004 7:15 pm
Location: York, UK

Post by Knightdramon » Mon Nov 01, 2004 8:00 pm

besides the legs, there aren't any difficult parts to transform...

smokescreen [bt, alt] is more difficult due to those stupid arms...

User avatar
dedicon
Protoform
Articles: 0
Posts: 986
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2004 7:00 pm
Location: israel

Post by dedicon » Mon Nov 01, 2004 8:40 pm

Originally posted by deej
I don't think mine's been moved out of bot mode since the day I bought him home... My lord did he give me grief the first time I tried transforming him, although I've got Prime, not convoy, but I don't think there's any real difference other than shortened stacks anyhow is there?

(oh, and the price tag...)

well,the battle damage and the fact mp can hold the axe in both hands,unlike 20 ann who can only use the left(or right,i cant remember).
its been 3 weeks since my 20 ann prime died.may he rest in peace before i kitbash him to a tftm dead prime
Really want the original(basic) Rattrap's gun. Please PM me if you have one you might spare!

User avatar
Almighty Galvatron
Protoform
Articles: 0
Posts: 715
Joined: Thu Nov 21, 2002 12:57 pm
Location: Gone drinking

Post by Almighty Galvatron » Tue Nov 02, 2004 11:36 am

Looks like the legs cause difficulty on a number of MP/20th A Primes. Just push both the silver drums in on his legs before trying to slide them in (mine tend to click when they unlock). Otherwise maybe try some WD-40 if that fails...

User avatar
stoltobot
Protoform
Articles: 0
Posts: 87
Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2002 6:46 am
Location: Nagoya, Japan
Contact:

Post by stoltobot » Wed Nov 03, 2004 3:55 pm

I got one in!...it was kinda like an old lock where you have to wiggle the key and the petrol tank is the key. Maybe tomorrow I'll try the other one;)

Update: I got the other one in! I found out that instead of pushing the tank I had to try forcefully pulling it back from the cab end. this seemed to release the mechanism and let the legs lide free.

Also, is the quantity of metal any different between Prime and Convoy? The box that Convoy comes in definitely gives him an initial feel of prestige and quality. The feeling I got from Prime when I saw him in his box was more like "ages 5 and up" if you know what I mean.
________
YAMAHA XS750

User avatar
Knightdramon
Protoform
Articles: 0
Posts: 3621
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2004 7:15 pm
Location: York, UK

Post by Knightdramon » Wed Nov 03, 2004 8:50 pm

Good, I might as well try that when I decide to transform him to robot and then back to truck mode again.

I haven't touched a 20th anniversary prime to comment on the quality of the metal, but I agree on the comment about the box.

Even so, I wouldn't care that much if he had longer smokestacks and no black marks on the arms. Those things are just ugly and make him look dirty [lol]

User avatar
Clay
Articles: 0
Posts: 7054
Joined: Mon May 24, 2004 2:19 am
Location: Murray, KY

Post by Clay » Thu Nov 04, 2004 12:38 am

Originally posted by dedicon
well,the battle damage and the fact mp can hold the axe in both hands,unlike 20 ann who can only use the left(or right,i cant remember).


Prime can use the axe in either hand as well.

User avatar
dedicon
Protoform
Articles: 0
Posts: 986
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2004 7:00 pm
Location: israel

Post by dedicon » Thu Nov 04, 2004 2:45 am

Originally posted by Clay
Prime can use the axe in either hand as well.

mine cant...well couldnt.
Really want the original(basic) Rattrap's gun. Please PM me if you have one you might spare!

User avatar
Rookwise
Protoform
Articles: 0
Posts: 837
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2003 2:54 pm
Location: Staffordshire - UK

Post by Rookwise » Tue Nov 16, 2004 6:10 pm

MP Prime can hold the axe in both arm. Works on my 2. Got all 3 versions of Masterpiece Prime/Convoy and apart from the battle damage and short smokestacks the build quality is the same.

http://photobucket.com/albums/v437/Staz ... C00019.jpg

Post Reply