Working area for reviews.

Moderators: Skyquake87, ganon578

Clay

TR Trypticon

Post by Clay »

DON'T LOOK AT MY OUTLINE. WIP!

Name: Trypticon
Function: Decepticon HQ
Hi there. I've been collecting transformers since about 2002, and if you had told me then that Hasbro would make a gigantic new-mold Trypticon as a retail product, I would have been incredulous at best. At the time I started collecting, Armada and the subsequent Energon and Cybertron lines would do homages to older toys with a light touch. That block of the franchise, for better or worse, tried to do its own thing in terms of new characters.

Ever since the 2006 Classics line however, Hasbro have slowly been trickling out new iterations of Generation One characters with more-or-less consistent success in terms of marketability (they are still going in 2017, after all). The approach to the design of the figures has changed broadly over time, though: whereas earlier figures in this "classic-ifying" process would frequently feature new ideas or transformation schemes (compare the original Astrotrain to the Classics version, for example), with Titans Return and the upcoming Power of the Primes lines have included figures that hew closer to their original counterparts (compare the original Hardhead with the Titans Return deluxe, for example). While this is by no means a bad approach, it does mean that the fun of discovering how a new figure works gets traded away in favor of more closely resembling a figure that you've known how transform for thirty years. That doesn't mean that a new design is always warranted or even good (the 2008 Universe versions of Ironhide and Galvatron come to mind very quickly), but sometimes a character gets a new design from scratch that's better than the original (the 2010 Generations Scourge comes to mind here).