Any other Martial Artists on the board?

Chat about stuff other than Transformers.
Prowl1984

Any other Martial Artists on the board?

Post by Prowl1984 »

I took up Shotokan Karate last October and what's started out as a hobby has turned into an obsession! I love every aspect of it, the history, the discipline, the style, the fitness, the lot! I've just taken my 7th Kyu and made it to yellow belt. Any other budding Martial Artists out there then?

"No point in long goodbyes, here's the door."

"Life's a trip, and then you die" -
Hunter S.Thompson
1937-2005 :smokin:
electro girl

Post by electro girl »

I'm a blue belt in Wado-Ru karate (not sure on spelling) I've been practiceing on and off for about 13 years but I haven't been down the dojo for at least a couple of years and I was 15 the last time I won a trophy.

I got my family into it when I first started going and there are now 3 black belts in the house but my parents don't go anymore and my brother occasionally goes inbetween bouts of cricket and athletics. (thats right, I'm the only nerd in a sports household)
It's smallish local club after splitting from the not exactly huge Tokui Karate Union a short while back but it's a fun place to learn and I've made some good friends.

I did train once at a friends Shotokan dojo but I ended up doing 2 hours of training on a broken arm after running into a wall during a warm up drill (yep I'm just that hard)
-------------------------
A Chinese cartoon where the robots turn into blingwads!
Prowl1984

Post by Prowl1984 »

nasty! I briefly did wado-ryu as a kid, didn't get far though as i had the attention span of a fish, my dad reached 1st kyu though. I'm not really following the competition side of it, i think that's more of a wado thing as we've had former wado fighters joining our class who've won all sorts of trophies. Shotokan's more of a hard style of Karate hence the high injury rate, luckily i've only gotten away with bruises and pulled muscles!